Individuals concerned about water quality and soil erosion in Meeker County should consider filing to run for the position of Supervisor of the Meeker Soil and Water Conservation District (SWCD).

“Supervisors play an important role in how our community deals with a wide variety of resource management issues, including wetlands, water quality, and soil erosion,” noted Bob Schiefellbein, Chairman of the Meeker SWCD Board of Supervisors.

“Serving as a supervisor is a terrific opportunity for people who want a voice in how we manage our environment,” he said.

SWCDs are special purpose units of government that manage and direct conservation programs, such as the state Cost-Share Program and the Reinvest in Minnesota (RIM) Program.  An elected board of Supervisors governs each of Minnesota’s 90 SWCDs.

This year, the SWCD has three Supervisor positions up for election. SWCD candidates appear on the ballot for the general election which will take place November 8, 2016. Candidates are elected county wide, but must reside in one of the nomination districts up for election. This year these include Nomination District #1 including Union Grove, Manannah, Swede Grove and Harvey Townships, Nomination District #2 including Forest Prairie, Forest City, North and South Kingston Townships and Nomination District #4 including Acton, Litchfield and Darwin Townships. SWCD Supervisors serve four year terms.

Supervisors meet monthly to discuss the business of the SWCD, including state grant allocations to landowners, district conservation priorities, coordination with other local units of government and state agencies, and legislative priorities. Supervisors do not receive a salary, although they do receive compensation for attending meetings and are reimbursed for expenses.

Those interested in running for Supervisor should file at the County Auditor’s office from May 17 through May 31, 2016.