SWCD Board of Supervisors

SWCD District Supervisors are elected officials and serve as a member of the Board of Supervisors, which is the governing body of the Soil and Water Conservation District. District Supervisors are nominated from one of the five nomination districts within the county and are elected in the general election. A supervisor must live in the nomination district in which he represents.

The Board sets policy, hires employees, and is responsible to see that the operations of the District are run effectively and according to law and rule.
Supervisors 08072018
Current Board Members are (from left) John Haffley; Greg Jans, Secretary; Fred Behnke, Treasurer; Dan Barka, Vice Chair and Bob Schiefelbein, Chair.


  • 8 a.m.
  • The first Tuesday of each month
  • USDA Service Center, 522 South Johnson Drive, Litchfield, MN 55355
  • Until further notice, meetings will be held virtually, pursuant to Minnesota Statute 13.D.04.  For connectivity information, please see the agenda once it is posted.
NOTE:  The November and December, 2020, meetings have been changed to the second Tuesdays of those months.

Transparent SWCD_logo
legacy_logo_rgb - web